NIHL National September 4, 2022 - 5:00 pm
Slough Ice Arena
Slough Ice Arena


: 1
Planet Ice Basingstoke



Match Review

The Bees took to home ice against the Basingstoke Bison for the 2nd game of the preseason weekend. The Bison went into this fixture with the addition of Marcus Mitchell, Roman Cathcart, Oliver Hemmings-Maher and, a familiar face to the Bee Army, Carl Graham. The Bees had the additions from the previous night of Tyton Cathcart and Lewis English and a new addition for the night Liam Clarke. Following his match penalty in Basingstoke Alan Lack found himself having to sit out.

Dan Rose took the opening face-off and straight away there was a close chance for Juha Lindgren and Dan Rose as well as a close chance for the Bison. Roman Cathcart proved himself to be a good addition to the Bison as he brought speed to the lineup. A chance for Zack Milton was shut down by Adam Goss and some great efforts from Liam Clarke for the Bees.

At 07:28, Dominik Gabaj put the puck al the back of Alex Mettam’s net giving the Bees a 1-goal lead. Assists awarded to Stuart Mogg and Ryan Webb. Some great defensive plays came from Harvey Stead however at 09:24 the Bison reacted to the early Bees’ goal with Ryan Sutton equalising for Basingstoke with assists awarded to Marcel Balaz and Jay King. A power play chance for the Bees as Paul Petts received a 2-minute minor tripping penalty leading to very close chances for Brendan Walkom, who was unlucky to hit the post.

Chances for the Bison produced by Brendan Baird resulted in nothing, however, an incident with JJ Pitchley colliding with Alex Mettam led to a power play chance for the Bison as JJ received 2 minutes for netminder interference and a further 2 minutes for roughing at 18:22 as well as Carl Graham also receiving 2 minutes for roughing. This left the first period ending with the score standing as Bees 1-1 Bison.

The Bison started the second period with some early chances but Dominik Gabaj had a great one-on-one chance against Mettam but could not get to the back of the Bison net. Words were exchanged in front of the Bees’ goal but no penalties were called. Not long after JJ Pitchley and Dan Rose found themselves in a situation with Zack Milton and Gael Lubwele and yet again no penalties were received for either team. A good hit from Josh Martin managed to clear Zack Milton and Edgers Landsbergs of the puck and Dominik found himself with another one-on-one chance but Alex Mettam denied it yet again. A great chance for Juha Lindgren with a stolen puck mid-ice saw the Bees with their last chance of the period leaving the score standing at Bees 1-1 Bison.

The Bees came out with a big period three needed and started by winning the opening period face-off. Early on in the period, Brendan Baird was given a 2-minute hooking penalty at 41:47. A great interception from Josh Smith led to great opportunities for the Bees to take the lead but nothing came from them. A Bison player clipped Brendan Walkom up high and Will Stead jumped in to defend his teammate leading to penalties. Brendan walked away uninjured. Will Stead received a match penalty while Liam Morris also received the same. With 10 minutes left, more chances were being produced by Juha Lindgren as well as JJ Pitchley and another chance for Brendan Walkom up close. A goal was disallowed for the Bison leading to the end of the final period leaving the score as Bees 1-1 Bison and forcing them into overtime.

A very good start for the Bison with a chance straight away for Zack Milton and Gael Lubwele, however Brendan Walkom and Juha Lindgren both had great chances to take the lead. Some key defensive plays from Harvey Stead helped the Bees hold out as well as a great save by Adam Goss with a shot from Josh Kelly, but then Dominik Gabaj took the puck down the Bison’s defensive zone and unleashes a great shot to give the Bees the overtime win, leaving the game finishing Bees 2-1 Bison after overtime.


Date Time League Season
September 4, 2022 5:00 pm NIHL National 2022/2023


Slough Ice Arena




# Player G A PIM
2Ty Cathcart000
2Adam Rosbottom000
4Luke Jackson000
6Lewis English000
15Joe Baird000
18Ryan Webb010
19Will Stead0025 (47:30')
21Liam Clark000
23Dominik Gabaj2 (7:28', 63:13')02 (19:53')
24Dan Rose000
27Josh Smith000
38Juha Lindgren000
51JJ Pitchley004 (18:22', 20:22')
65Harvey Stead000
84Adam Goss000
88Josh Martin002 (33:53')
94Stuart Mogg010
96Brendan Walkom000


# Player G A PIM
5Marcus Mitchell002 (31:59')
9Gael-Mukeba Lubwele000
11Hallam Wilson000
17Edgars Landsbergs000
19Paul Petts002 (9:55')
21Marcel Balaz010
22Roman Cathcart000
23Oliver Hemmings-Maher000
24Zach Milton000
28Alex Mettam000
33Jordan Lawday000
34Carl Graham002 (18:22')
61Ryan Sutton1 (9.24')00
74Liam Morris0025 (47:30')
75Brendan Baird002 (41:47')
77Jay King010
88Adrian Dusznik000
91Aidan Doughty000
16George Norcliffe000
71Josh Kelly000


23. Dominik Gabaj 7:28' 
 9:55' 19. Paul Petts
 9.24' 61. Ryan Sutton
51. JJ Pitchley 18:22' 
 18:22' 34. Carl Graham
23. Dominik Gabaj 19:53' 
51. JJ Pitchley 20:22' 
 31:59' 5. Marcus Mitchell
88. Josh Martin 33:53' 
 41:47' 75. Brendan Baird
19. Will Stead 47:30' 
 47:30' 74. Liam Morris
23. Dominik Gabaj 63:13'